Can’t

Slipping
Through my fingers
Each moment
I’ve held so close
Almost to my lips
Still, it never fails
The moments escape through my hands
Like trying to scoop water from a river
And drink, before it drains back into the rush
I guess I am not so good at that
I too, am torn
Unknowing if you feel the air
Draw you into me
When we sit together
As I do with you
Unknowing if I should turn back now
My curiosity finds your adventure quite worth the risk
Your gaze is hazy, though, and hard to read
I do not own many books
But a persons eyes
I find quite simple
Unable to hide its secrets
Exposing everything at once
But yours
Are a bit more complex
I think we complicate things
unintentionally
I come closer
I stay up, involuntary
I still can’t forget how you looked at me.

Leave a Reply

