When I Leave

Pieces in my ears to turn the world down
Seconds to minutes, begin to drown out
The grains that pile up in my hour glass.

I don’t sleep, too many things awhirl in my head
Not enough aches and pains in my bed
But tossing and turning does often befriend me.

So suddenly, the city creeps up to my toes
Shocks permeate. My dear, shall we explode?
And we dance on the edge of the dreams I don’t sleep in/of at night.

And when I leave, Id like to dream, that i may walk away, into the setting sun.

I am still in the universe
Lying still in a moving hearse
I’m not dead, I’m not afraid to fall asleep

So alive, living to dance to a drum
That echoes out through my lungs,
In waves I can drift out and wade in the sound of it all.

And when I leave, Id like to dream, that i may walk away, into the setting sun.

Never made wishes, fishing for stars
A dream , a thing to admire from afar
But moments you’ve built with your own bare hands

And in all of my life, if there’s one thing I’ve learned
It’s to hold little rays of love that you’ve earned
In the deepest things treasured at the bottom of your heart

In the end it all melts into the atmosphere
But for now you are there and I am here
In this once upon a time my dear, that we hold

And when I leave, Id like to dream, that i may walk with you, into the setting sun.

20130418-051911.jpg

One thought on “When I Leave

Leave a Reply

